Skip to Main Content

Ansys Maxwell
Niederfrequente-elektromagnetische-Feldsimulation

Ansys Maxwell ist ein EM-Feldlöser für elektrische Maschinen, Transformatoren, Geräte für die kontaktlose Energieübertragung, magnetische Schnappverschlüsse, magnetische Aktoren und Ventile und andere elektromechanische Geräte. Er löst statische, niederfrequente magnetische und elektrische Felder (wahlweise im Frequenz- und im Zeitbereich). Maxwell bietet auch maßgeschneiderte Design-Schnittstellen für elektrische Maschinen und Leistungsnetzteile.

Niederfrequente elektromagnetische Simulation für elektrische Maschinen

Mit Maxwell können Sie die nichtlineare, zeitabhängige Bewegung elektromechanischer Komponenten und die Auswirkungen auf deren Ansteuerung präzise charakterisieren. Durch die Nutzung der fortschrittlichen elektromagnetischen Feldlöser von Maxwell und deren nahtlose Verknüpfung mit der integrierten Schaltungs- und Systemsimulationstechnologie können Sie die Leistung elektromechanischer Systeme verstehen, lange bevor Sie einen Prototyp bauen.

  • Symbol für Elektromagnetismus
    Detailierte magnetische Modellierung
  • Symbol für Elektromagnetismus
    Multiphysik-Kopplungen
  • Symbol für Elektromagnetismus
    Bi-direktionale CAD-Integration
  • Symbol für Elektromagnetismus
    Modellierung elektrischer Antriebe

Produktspezifikationen

Maxwell erlaubt eine zuverlässige Simulation von niederfrequenten elektromagnetischen Feldern in industriellen Komponenten. Es beinhaltet 3-D und 2-D Solver für Felder im Zeit- und im Frequenzbereich, sowie für Analysen der Magnetostatik, Elektrostatik und des stationären elektrischen Strömungsfelds. Parameter wie Kraft, Drehmoment, Kapazität, Induktivität, Widerstand und Impedanz lassen sich präzise ermitteln.

  • Modellierung reduzierter Ordnung
  • Sektor-Berechnung
  • Co-sim Transiente Funktion
  • Automatisches adaptives Meshing
  • 2D- und 3D-EM-Löser
  • Komponente zum System
Ansys Electronics

Slice-only-Technologie

Die sogenannte "Slice-only"-Technologie ermöglicht eine neue Simulationstechnik für periodische Elektromotortopologien. Die Analyse wurde verbessert, indem nicht-planare Randbedingungen verwendet werden und nur ein Sektor des Motors effizient gelöst wird. Ein symmetrisches Netz kommt zum Einsatz und die Ergebnisse werden anschließend auf das Vollmodell übertragen. Um mehr darüber zu erfahren, wie die "Slice-only"-Technologie bei der Simulation komplexer Elektromotoren hilft, lesen Sie den Blog: Wie man komplexe Elektromotoren modelliert und simuliert.

Juli 2022

Was ist neu

Die Ansys 2022 R2-Update-Version enthält neue Features und Funktionen für Ansys Maxwell, darunter einen Workflow für magnetische Verriegelungskupplungen, ein ROM-Modell für Induktionsmaschinen und Verbesserungen bei der Skew-Modellierung.

Ansys Motion-Workflow
Neuer Workflow mit Ansys Motion

Ein neuer erstklassiger Multiphysics-Magnetverriegelungs-Workflow von Ansys Maxwell und Ansys Motion.

Magnetanschluss für Apple Pencil
Neues ROM-Modell für Induktionsmaschinen

Das genaueste ROM-Modell für Induktionsmaschinen, welches in Twin Builder für eine umfassendere Simulation von Antriebssystemen genutzt wird.

Skew-Modellierung
Verbesserungen bei der Skew-Modellierung

Mit der neuen Funktionalität zur Modellierung von Schiefe (Skew Modeling) profitieren Systemingenieur*innen und Entwickler*innen von Elektromotoren von der neuen ROM-Technik, die eine äquivalente Schaltung eines 2D-Skew-Designs extrahieren und die vorhandene Multi-Slice-Technologie über MPI parallelisieren kann.

Maxwell-Anwendungen

Alle Anwendungen anzeigen

Simulation eines Leistungstransformators mit Ansys Maxwell
Leistungstransformatoren

Ansys bietet eine umfassende Lösung für Transformatoren, einschließlich Elektromagnetik (frequenzabhängig, nichtlinear), Multiphysik (Kraftdichte, mechanische Dichte oder Verlustdichte, thermische Analyse) und Modell auf Systemebene (frequenzabhängiges ROM oder nichtlineares ROM) für Schaltungs- und Systemleistung.

Simulation eines magnetischen Aktors mit Ansys Maxwell
Magnetische Aktuatoren

Diese Entwurfsmethodik umfasst den Entwurf und die Analyse von magnetischen Aktoren und Elektromagneten, einschließlich der Berechnung von Kräften, Induktivitäten, Flussdichten, Schließzeiten, Wirbelstromeffekten und thermische Integrität, sowie die Einbindung in die Systemsimulation.

Maxwell Magnetic Sensor
Magnetische Sensoren

Die Ansys Simulationswerkzeuge bieten eine Komplettlösung für Untersuchungen elektromagnetischer Felder auf Komponentenebene, schaltungstechnische Betrachtungen und Systemsimulationen in einer gemeinsamen Desktop-Umgebung.

Simulation von induktiver Erwärmung mit Ansys Maxwell
Induktionserwärmung

Anwendungen der induktiven Erwärmung erfordern eine robuste Multiphysics-Simulationsumgebung, um das elektromagnetische und thermische Verhalten intelligent miteinander zu koppeln. Ansys-Tools bieten erstklassige Werkzeuge und Arbeitsabläufe, um diese Technologie zu untersuchen.

Simulation von Leitungsschutzschaltern und Schützen mit Ansys Maxwell
Sicherungen und Schalter

Bei Sicherungen und Schaltern kommen elektrische Felder und die Kopplung von Elektromagnetismus mit mechanischer Spannung, Wärme und Flüssigkeitsströmung zum Tragen. Ansys bietet eine Komplettlösung, die alle Aspekte der Konstruktion von Leistungsschaltern abdeckt.

Niederfrequente elektromagnetische Simulation in der Medizintechnik
Niederfrequenz-Biomedizin

Für medizintechnische Anwendungen, welche die Analyse niederfrequenter Felder erfordern, wie z. B. kabelloses Laden, Bioimpedanzbestimmung, Defibrillatoren, Nervenstimulation, Biosensorik, MRT und Einbeziehung menschlicher Körpermodelle, bietet Ansys Lösungen für alle physikalischen Domänen.


FALLSTUDIEN

ansys Fallstudie Magnet

Indar Electric – Mehr Leistung für Sie

Simulation hilft Indar bei der Entwicklung eines der effizientesten Permanentmagnet-Windkraftgeneratoren der Welt.

ansys case study

Hyundai Heavy Industries - Balance of Power

Um Leistung und Kosten in Einklang zu bringen, verwendet Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Bulgarien Ansys Multiphysics-Lösungen für die Entwicklung von Leistungstransformatoren und zugehörigen Geräten.

MAXWELL-FÄHIGKEITEN

Hoher Maschinenwirkungsgrad und kürzere Markteinführungszeiten mit Ansys Maxwell-Simulation

Anpassbare Modellierungsfunktionen, automatische adaptive Vernetzung und fortschrittliche Parallelisierungstechnologien ermöglichen es Entwicklern, komplette elektromechanische Systeme zu untersuchen. Generieren Sie automatisch nichtlineare Ersatzschaltbilder und frequenzabhängige Zustandsraummodelle aus Feldparametern, die in der System- und Schaltungssimulation weiterverwendet werden können, um die höchstmögliche Genauigkeit bei SIL- (Software-in-the-Loop) und HIL-Systemen (Hardware-in-the-Loop) zu erreichen. Mit der Ansys-Simulationstechnologie können Sie zuverlässig vorhersagen, dass sich Ihre Produkte in der realen Welt bewähren werden.

Kunden vertrauen auf unsere elektromagnetische Analysesoftware, um die Integrität ihrer Produkte zu gewährleisten und den Geschäftserfolg durch Innovation zu fördern.

Maxwell-Fähigkeiten

 

Hauptmerkmale

Maxwell ist eine branchenführende Software zur Simulation elektromagnetischer Felder für die Entwicklung und Analyse von Elektromotoren, Aktoren, Sensoren, Transformatoren und anderen elektromagnetischen und elektromechanischen Geräten.

  • Niederfrequente elektromagnetische Simulation
  • Automatische, adaptive Vernetzung
  • Modellierung mehrdimensionaler Systeme
  • Experten Schnittstellen
  • Optimetrics
  • Granta Materials Data

Ein Hauptvorteil von Maxwell sind die automatischen adaptiven Vernetzungsverfahren, bei denen Sie nur die Geometrie, die Materialeigenschaften und die gewünschte Ausgabe angeben müssen, um eine genaue Lösung zu erhalten. Der Vernetzungsprozess von Maxwell verwendet eine äußerst robuste volumetrische Vernetzungsmethode und beinhaltet eine Multithreading-Funktion, die den Speicherbedarf reduziert und die Zeit bis zur Lösung verkürzt. Diese bewährte Technologie eliminiert die Komplexität des Aufbaus und der Verfeinerung eines Finite-Elemente-Netzes und macht fortschrittliche numerische Analysen für alle Ebenen Ihres Unternehmens praktikabel.

Die elektromagnetische Feldlöser von Maxwell können mit Ansys Workbench verknüpft werden, um komplexe gekoppelte Analysen, wie z. B. deformierte Netzrückkopplung von Strukturen, Spannungs- bzw. Dehnungsabhängige magnetische Eigenschaften, Wechselwirkung mit Fluide und akustische Analysen, einfach einzurichten.

Führen Sie detailierte Simulationsberechnungen durch, z. B. Eisenverlustberechnungen, Hystereseeffekte, Vier-Quadranten-Simulation für Dauermagnete, Magnetostriktions- und magnetoelastische Analysen, Verluste in Litzen und Berücksichtigung von Fertigungseinflüsse auf die Verluste.

Elektrische Maschinen und Umrichter erfordern deutlich unterschiedliche Auslegungskriterien und Simulationen, weshalb Maxwell für beide spezielle Schnittstellen bereitstellt.

Zusätzlich zu den klassischen Auslegungsberechnungen generiert RMxprt automatisch die Geometrie, die Materialeigenschaften (einschließlich Eisenverlustverlust-Setup), definiert das Wicklungsschema und die Bewegungsdefinition für eine detaillierte Finite-Elemente-Analyse in Maxwell.

Ein Multi-Domain-Simulator für Leistungselektronik für elektrische, magnetische, mechanische, fluidische und thermische Systeme, der drei grundlegende Arten von Komponentenbibliotheken nahtlos integriert: Schaltungen, Blockdiagramme und Zustandsmaschinen. Simplorer erlaubt eine integrierte Analyse durch seine Verbindung mit EM-Löser (Maxwell, PExprt, RMxprt, Q3D, HFSS) und mit thermischen Tools (Ansys CFD, Ansys Icepak).

Simplorer bietet auch die Möglichkeit, hochgenaue Modelle von Leistungshalbleitern für thermische und EMV-Simulationen zu charakterisieren. Darüber können die Modellbibliotheken von Simplorer VHDL-AMS-Komponenten, bestehende Steuerungssysteme und vom Kunden entwickelte Modelle aufnehmen.

Power Electronics Expert (PExprt) ist ein magnetisches Design- und Optimierungswerkzeug für Ferrittransformatoren und -induktoren, einschließlich Transformatoren mit mehreren Wicklungen, gekoppelten Induktivitäten und Flyback-Komponenten. Die vorlagenbasierte Schnittstelle von PExprt für Transformatoren und Induktivitäten kann automatisch ein Design aus Spannungswellenform- oder Wandlereingängen erstellen. Der Autodesign-Prozess berücksichtigt zur Optimierung des magnetischen Designs alle Kombinationen von Kernformen, -größen, -materialien, Lücken, Drahttypen und -stärken sowie Wickelstrategien.

Es gibt Herstellerbibliotheken für allgemeine Komponenten. FEA-basierte Lösungen werden kombiniert, um Oberflächen- und Näherungseffekte sowie Lückeneffekte aufgrund von magnetischen Fransen einzubeziehen. Zusätzlich werden Wicklungsverluste, Kernverluste, R-, L-, C-Parameter und Temperaturanstieg berechnet, und mit Simplorer unter Verwendung einer frequenzabhängigen Netzliste für die simulierte Komponente gekoppelt.

Sie können zeit-transiente elektromagnetische Kräfte aus Ansys Maxwell in Ansys Motion einlesen und damit die Wechselwirkung zwischen elektromagnetische Felder und Starrkörperdynamik untersuchen, um das Geräusch- bzw. Vibrationsverhalten zu verbessern.

Ein neuer transienter Maxwell-Solver unterstützt mehrpolige Leiter.

MAXWELL RESSOURCEN & VERANSTALTUNGEN

Ausgewählte Webinare

Webinar on Demand
Ansys On Demand Webinar
Kontaktlose Ladesysteme - Bessere Entwürfe durch Simulation

Lernen Sie, wie man induktive kontaktlose Ladesysteme mit Ansys Maxwell modelliert und analysiert, um sie optimal auszulegen.

Webinar Series
Ansys Webinar zu Elektrische Maschinen
Webinarreihe über elektrische Maschinen

Diese Webinarreihe konzentriert sich auf die Auslegung und Analyse elektrischer Maschinen und stellt viele der technologischen Möglichkeiten vor, die die Ansys-Simulationswerkzeuge bieten, einschließlich ausführlicher Präsentationen und kurzer Demonstrationen.

On Demand Webinar
Ansys Maxwell Übersichtsvideo
Ansys Maxwell: Ein detaillierter Überblick

Nehmen Sie an diesem Webinar teil, welches die wichtigsten Funktionen von Ansys Maxwell erläutert, wie z. B. automatische adaptive Vernetzung, parallelisiertes Rechnen, Mehrdomänen-Systemmodellierung, leistungselektronische Schaltungen, fortgeschrittene Materialmodellierung und vieles mehr.



FALLSTUDIEN

Fallstudie Simulationstechnik

Indar Electric – Mehr Leistung für Sie

Simulation hilft Indar bei der Entwicklung eines der effizientesten Permanentmagnet-Windkraftgeneratoren der Welt.

Fallstudie Multiphysik-Plattform

Hyundai Heavy Industries - Balance of Power

Um Leistung und Kosten in Einklang zu bringen, verwendet Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Bulgarien die auf Multiphysik basierenden Lösungen von Ansys für die Entwicklung von Leistungstransformatoren und zugehörigen Geräten.



Ansys-Software für alle

Für Ansys ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass alle Benutzer*innen, einschließlich derjenigen mit Behinderungen, auf unsere Produkte zugreifen können. Daher bemühen wir uns um die Einhaltung der Zugänglichkeitsrichtlinien auf der Grundlage des US Access Board (Section 508), der Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) und des aktuellen Formats des Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT).

Erfahren Sie, wie Ansys Ihnen helfen kann

Kontaktieren Sie uns heute

* = Pflichtfeld

Danke für die Kontaktaufnahme

We’re here to answer your questions and look forward to speaking with you. A member of our Ansys sales team will contact you shortly.

Bild in der Fußzeile

Skip to Main Content

Ansys Maxwell
Low Frequency EM Field Simulation

Ansys Maxwell is an EM field solver for electric machines, transformers, wireless charging, permanent magnet latches, actuators and other electr mechanical devices. It solves static, frequency-domain and time-varying magnetic and electric fields. Maxwell also offers specialized design interfaces for electric machines and power converters.

Low-Frequency Electromagnetic Simulation for Electric Machines

With Maxwell, you can precisely characterize the nonlinear, transient motion of electromechanical components and their effects on the drive circuit and control system design. By leveraging Maxwell’s advanced electromagnetic field solvers and seamlessly linking them to the integrated circuit and systems simulation technology, you can understand the performance of electromechanical systems long before building a prototype in hardware.

  • electromagnetics icon
    Advanced Magnetic Modeling
  • electromagnetics icon
    Multiphysics Couplings
  • electromagnetics icon
    Bi-Directional CAD Integration
  • electromagnetics icon
    Electric Drive Modeling

Product Specs

Maxwell offers trusted simulation of low-frequency electromagnetic fields in industrial components. It includes 3-D/2-D magnetic transient, AC electromagnetic, magnetostatic, electrostatic, DC conduction and electric transient solvers to accurately solve for field parameters including force, torque, capacitance, inductance, resistance and impedance.

  • Reduced-Order Modeling
  • Slice-Only Solving
  • Co-sim Transient Performance
  • Automatic Adaptive Meshing
  • 2D and 3D EM Solvers
  • Component to System
Ansys Electronics

Slice-only Technology

Slice-only technology enables a cyclic repeatability simulation technique for electric motor applications. The analysis has been improved by efficiently solving just a slice of the motor, employing non-planar boundary conditions, using symmetric mesh and replicating results to the full model. To learn more about how “slice-only” technology helps simulate complex electric motors, read the blog: How to Model and Simulate Complex Electric Motors.

January 2023

What's New

The improvements for this 2023 R1 release include a ROM for the electric machine toolkit and quasi-static solver enhancements, which help with multilayer PCBs, reducing simulations from hours to minutes.

Induction Machine ROM-based Efficiency Map
Induction Machine

Induction Machine ROM-based Efficiency Map – Reduced Order Modeling in the electric machine toolkit shrinks an FEA solution a circuit simulation and improves performance.

Quasi Static Solvers
Quasi Static Solvers

Performance improvements for quasi-static solvers help PCB simulations where the conduction path includes complex geometry, reducing processing from hours to minutes.

Maxwell Applications

View all Applications

Power transformer simulation using Ansys Maxwell
Power Transformers

Ansys provides a comprehensive transformer solution inclusive of electromagnetics (frequency dependent, nonlinear), multiphysics (force density to Mechanical or loss densities to thermal analysis) and system-level model (frequency dependent ROM or nonlinear ROM) for circuit and system performance.

Simulation of magnetic actuator using Ansys Maxwell
Magnetic Actuators

This design methodology covers design and analysis of magnetic actuators and solenoids including forces, inductances, flux densities, closing time, eddy effects, thermal performance, as well as incorporation into a system-level simulation.

Maxwell Magnetic Sensor
Magnetic Sensors

Ansys Magnetic Sensor simulation tools offer a complete solution integrating electromagnetic, circuit, and system-level engineering simulation in a common desktop environment.

Induction heating simulation using Ansys Maxwell
Induction Heating

Induction Heating applications require a robust Multiphysics simulation framework to intelligently couple the electromagnetic and thermal behavior together.  Ansys tools provide best-in-class tools and workflows to enable this technology.

Circuit breaker and switch simulation using Ansys Maxwell
Circuit Breakers and Switches

Circuit breakers and switches involve electric fields and coupled electromagnetics with mechanical stress, thermal and fluid flow.  Ansys provides a complete solution covering all aspects of circuit breaker design.

Low-frequency biomedical electromagnetics simulation
Low Frequency Biomedical

For applications that require low frequency electromagnetics including wireless charging, bio-impedance, defibrillators, nerve stimulation, bio-sensing, MRI, and inclusion of human body models, Ansys provides solutions across all physics and many other biomedical applications.


Case Studies

ansys case study magnet

Indar Electric – More Power to You

Simulation helps Indar to design one of the world’s highest efficiency permanent magnet wind turbine generators.

Ansys case study

Hyundai Heavy Industries - Balance of Power

To balance performance and cost, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Bulgaria uses Ansys multiphysics solutions to design power transformers and associated equipment. 

MAXWELL CAPABILITIES

Increase machine efficiency and reduce time-to-market with Ansys Maxwell simulation

Customizable modeling capabilities, automatic adaptive meshing and advanced high-performance computing technology allow designers to solve complete high-performance electromechanical power systems. Automatically generate nonlinear equivalent circuits and frequency-dependent state-space models from field parameters that may be further used in system and circuit simulation to achieve the highest possible fidelity on SIL (software-in-the-loop) and HIL (hardware-in-the-loop) systems. Ansys simulation technology enables you to predict with confidence that your products will thrive in the real world.

Customers trust our electromagnetic analysis software to help ensure the integrity of their products and drive business success through innovation.

Maxwell Capabilities

 

Key Features

Maxwell is an industry-leading electromagnetic field simulation software for the design and analysis of electric motors, actuators, sensors, transformers and other electromagnetic and electromechanical devices.

  • Low-frequency EM simulation
  • Automatic, adaptive meshing
  • Multidomain system modeling
  • Expert design interfaces
  • Optimetrics
  • Granta Materials Data

A key benefit of Maxwell is its automatic adaptive meshing techniques, which require you to specify only the geometry, material properties and the desired output to obtain an accurate solution. Maxwell’s meshing process uses a highly robust volumetric meshing technique and includes a multithreading capability that reduces the amount of memory used and accelerates time to solution. This proven technology eliminates the complexity of building and refining a finite element mesh and makes advanced numerical analysis practical for all levels of your organization.

Maxwell's electromagnetic field solvers are linked through Ansys Workbench to easily set up and analyze complex coupled-physics behaviors such as deformed mesh feedback structures, stress and strain feedback on magnetic properties, EM fluids and acoustics.

Perform advanced simulation calculations such as core loss calculations, vector hysteresis, four-quadrant simulation for permanent magnets, magnetostriction and magnetoelastic analysis, Litz Wire Loss and manufacturing effects on loss computation.

Electric machines and power converters require significantly different design criteria and simulation, which is why Maxwell provides specialized interfaces for each.

In addition to providing classical motor performance calculations, RMxprt automatically generates geometry, motion and mechanical setup, material properties, core loss, winding and source setup for detailed finite element analysis in Maxwell.

A multi-domain power electronics simulator for electrical, magnetic, mechanical, fluid, and thermal systems that seamlessly integrates three fundamental component libraries: circuits, block diagrams, and state machines. Simplorer provides an integrated analysis thanks to its connection with EM (Maxwell, PExprt, RMxprt, Q3D, HFSS) and thermal tools (Ansys CFD, Ansys Icepak). 

Simplorer also includes the ability to characterize high fidelity power semiconductor models for thermal and EMI/EMC simulations. In addition, Simplorer’s model libraries include VHDL-AMS capability and existing controls systems and customer developed models.  

Power Electronics Expert (PExprt) is a magnetic design and optimization tool for ferrite transformers and inductors including, multi-winding transformers, coupled inductors, and flyback components. PExprt's template-based interface for transformers and inductors can automatically create a design from voltage waveform or converter inputs. The auto-design process considers all combinations of core shapes, sizes, materials, gaps, wire types and gauges, and winding strategies to optimize the magnetic design.

It contains manufacturer libraries for common components. It also combines FEA-based solutions to include skin and proximity effects, and gap effects due to magnetic fringing. Additionally, it calculates winding losses, core Losses, R, L, C parameters and temperature rise, and couples to Simplorer using a frequency dependent netlist for the simulated component.

You can output transient electromagnetic forces from Ansys Maxwell into Ansys Motion, extending electromagnetic interaction to rigid body dynamics to enhance the overall noise-vibration solution.

A new Maxwell transient solver provides multiterminal conductor support on a single conduction path.

MAXWELL RESOURCES & EVENTS

Featured Webinars

Webinar on Demand
Ansys On Demand Webinar
Wireless Charging Systems – Create Better Designs Through Simulation

Learn how to model and analyze inductive-based wireless charging systems using Ansys Maxwell for optimum design.

Webinar Series
Ansys Electric Machine Webinar
Electric Machine Webinar Series

This webinar series focuses on design and analysis of electric machines, and presents many of the technology capabilities offered by Ansys simulation tools including full-length presentations as well as short demonstrations.

On Demand Webinar
Maxwell Ansys Overview video
Ansys Maxwell: An In-Depth Overview

 Join us for this webinar which delivers a detailed analysis of Ansys Maxwell’s key capabilities, such as automatic adaptive meshing, high-performance computing, multidomain system modeling, power electronic circuits, advanced material modeling and more.



Case Studies

case study simulation engineering

Indar Electric – More Power to You

Simulation helps Indar to design one of the world’s highest efficiency permanent magnet wind turbine generators.

case study platform multiphysics

Hyundai Heavy Industries - Balance of Power

To balance performance and cost, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Bulgaria uses Ansys multiphyiscs solutions to design power transformers and associated equipment.



FAQs

Ansys Maxwell is an electromagnetic field solver for electric machines, transformers, wireless charging, permanent magnet latches, actuators, and other electromechanical devices. It solves static, frequency-domain and time-varying magnetic and electric fields. Maxwell also offers specialized design interfaces for electric machines and power converters.

You can learn about Ansys Maxwell in several different ways depending on whether you are an existing customer or a student or non-customer.

This free course, available on our Ansys Innovation Courses Site, you will learn the basics of Ansys Maxwell design and the LF simulation workflow.

These Maxwell courses are available to Ansys Customers.

Ansys Maxwell interfaces with Ansys Motor-CAD, Ansys HFSS, Ansys Icepak, Ansys Mechanical, Ansys CFD, Ansys Motion, Ansys TwinBuider and Ansys optiSLang.

Click Maxwell>Draw>Region

  • This displays the Region dialog box. You can define the region padding as a percentage, relative position, or absolute position.
  • For the Padding data, select either Pad all directions similarly, Pad individual directions, or Transverse padding.

To download Ansys Maxwell, you must be an Ansys customer and have access to the Customer Portal. Ansys Maxwell is included in the Electronics software bundle and is also included in the free Ansys Student bundle.

Ansys Maxwell can be used in a variety of applications, including electric machines, transformers, wireless charging, permanent magnet latches, actuators, sensors, conveters, electromagnetic shielding, and other electromechanical devices.

To solve for a capacitance, inductance, impedance, or conductance matrix:

  • Click Maxwell 3D or Maxwell 2D, and then select Parameters>Assign>Matrix.

The Matrix dialog box appears.

  • Click the Setup tab.
  • Type a name for the matrix in the Name box.
  • To specify the sources to be included in the matrix, do one of the following:
    • For 3D Electrostatic, 2D and 3D Magnetostatic, 2D and 3D Eddy Current designs, select or clear the Include check box for any of the listed sources.
    • For Maxwell 2D designs, the return path for each source may be specified. By default, the return path is at infinity; however, any conductor with a source specified can act as the return path.
    • For 2D Electrostatic, 2D and 3D DC Conduction, and 2D and 3D AC Conduction, select or clear the Signal or Ground check box for any of the listed sources. Grounded terminals are treated as reference voltages with zero voltage values.
    • Excitations checked as Signal will be in the matrix (excited one at a time with 1V during the parameters extraction process). Those excitations checked as Ground will be kept at 0 V and will not be part of the matrix. Any excitations not checked will not be considered.

For more details, Ansys customers have access to all "how to" information.

The same information can be found on the Maxwell.pdf file which is part of the installation AnsysEM folder.

 

To import a 3D CAD file:

  • Click Modeler>Import.

The Import File dialog box appears.

  • Select the file type you want from the Files of type drop-down menu.
  • Select any import options available for the selected file type.
  • Use the file browser to find the file you want to import.
  • Click Open. The file is imported into the active Modeler window.

For tips on dealing with very complex models, see Technical Notes: Handling Complicated Models

Ansys software is accessible

It's vital to Ansys that all users, including those with disabilities, can access our products. As such, we endeavor to follow accessibility requirements based on the US Access Board (Section 508), Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), and the current format of the Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT).

See What Ansys Can Do For You

Contact us today

* = Required Field

Thank you for reaching out!

We’re here to answer your questions and look forward to speaking with you. A member of our Ansys sales team will contact you shortly.

Footer Image