芯片封装协同分析

在针对移动手机或服务器的电子系统中,处理器和存储器等 IC 负责执行应用程序和数据处理功能,消耗的功率最多。这些 IC 与它们的 I/O 电路之间输入/输出的数据量最大,并且产生的有害功率、热量以及 EMI 信号也最大。

IC 消耗的功率与其电源电压直接相关。由于阈值电压不会一同缩放,电源和阈值电压之间的差距缩小,从而降低了噪音容限。

随着技术的发展,由于封装阻抗日益增加,对降低成本和能耗的需求使芯片和封装级别的供电网络 (PDN) 设计变得复杂。这减少了电压,对芯片而言成为有害级别。

RedHawk-CPA 支持您无缝导入封装布局,以及针对封装感知和精确的片上静态 IR 以及交流热点分析考虑去耦电容和电感。

芯片封装协同分析


热感知 EM

ESD 及电源/接地和信号 EM 是亚 16nm 级别最迫切需要解决的两个可靠性问题。EM 和 ESD 分析的精确度以及覆盖率极为重要。随着导线中的电流增加,工作电压会降低,EM 范围会缩小。由于 FinFET 的使用,自热被添加到热问题中。在汽车等众多应用领域,了解、分析并优化每个 IC 设计以便实现正确热行为至关重要。

RedHawk 为热感知电源/接地和信号线 EM 验证提供全面支持,在尽量减少误报的同时准确分析 EM 冲突,即使是基于 FinFET 的先进设计亦可从中受益。在与 ANSYS PathFinder 结合使用时,RedHawk 可以执行 SoC 级别 ESD 完整性分析,从 ESD 事件(HBM、CDM)为所有电流通路(导线和过孔)提供连接性和互连故障检查。RedHawk 在电源 EM、信号 EM 和 SoC ESD 签核方面获得芯片代工厂认证。

热感知 EM


功能和容量

目前的片上系统 (SoC) 拥有更大规模的整合内容,并且采用先进的工艺技术。因此,必须考虑的设计参数的数量正在迅速增加。这为执行分析带来了性能瓶颈:最好的情况是要运行数天,最坏的情况是根本无法运行。

RedHawk 采用先进的分布式机器处理 (DMP) 技术,可为您提供模拟包含超10 亿个实例的设计所需的大容量和高性能。DMP 拥有的签核精确度仅可通过扁平仿真获得。

DMP 还利用私有机器群集不断增强的处理能力和可用存储容量,对整个芯片的 RLC 网络矩阵进行仿真,并使用完全分布式和交叉耦合的封装模型。通过执行全芯片扁平分析,RedHawk 能够保持动态降压、EM 和 ESD 的签核精确度。

功能和容量


经过硅验证的签核精确度

在芯片级别,对最新工艺技术的使用往往受到以下一个或多个因素的驱动:更快的性能、更大的带宽、更高的性能功率比和更小的晶片尺寸。工艺技术越新,失败的几率越大,设计错误造成的代价也就越高。这便是签核认证如此重要的原因。

自 2006 年以来,ANSYS 工程师便在每个工艺技术方面与领先的晶圆代工厂展开紧密合作,确保 ANSYS 解决方案考虑到工艺的所有新规则、参数和要求,并确保其结果与测试芯片的参考结果保持一致。

ANSYS 多物理场解决方案经过所有主要晶圆代工厂的所有进阶 FinFET 流程节点的验证,包括 TSMC 最近的 5nm 流程技术。晶圆代工厂认证包括针对自发热、热感应 EM 的提取、电源完整性和可靠性、信号电迁移 (信号 EM) 和热可靠性分析以及统计 EM 预算 (SEB) 分析。这些严格的认证对于保证一次通过的硅晶至关重要。

经过芯片验证的签核精确度


电源噪音对时序的影响

设计中的动态压降可能对时钟抖动、关键路径和时序产生影响。如今的设计拥有多个时钟和电源域,在签核前对时钟树的性能进行评估,识别并分析抖动、信号串扰和时序问题便非常重要。

RedHawk 的快速全芯片级时序影响分析可帮助您评估时钟树性能。此外,它还支持您对可能受抖动、信号串扰和时序问题影响的电路零部件进行识别。RedHawk 的 SPICE 精确签核仿真可帮助您识别时钟树、受影响的关键路径和电路时序的问题,并采取措施消除这些问题。

电源噪音对时序的影响


高级 IC 封装的完整性与可靠性

对包括片上系统 (SoC) 在内的集成电路 (IC) 设计师而言,有一个持续的策略,就是通过集成化和小型化,在增加性能和带宽的同时降低能耗和占用面积。

对于任何封装技术,完整性、可靠性和成本都是需要优化的三大主要因素。完整性因素涉及电源和信号噪音。可靠性涉及热、电迁移 (EM)、静电释放 (ESD)、电磁干扰 (EMI) 和热致结构应力问题。成本则涉及几乎所有应用,尤其是消费品和物联网 (IoT) 设备。在每种芯片的封装、电路板和系统的背景下优化和确保芯片(晶片级别)的完整性和可靠性,这非常复杂,并且涉及多个晶片时成本只会增加。

ANSYS 解决方案使您能够确保您先进的 2.5D 或 3D-IC 封装设计可满足芯片、封装和系统级别的完整性和可靠性要求。ANSYS 解决方案符合所有先进的 3D-IC 封装技术,包括 TSMC 最新的 CoWoS、InFO_MS 以及 SoIC 封装技术。ANSYS 针对先进封装技术的多物理场解决方案能够进行多模具联合模拟和联合分析,实现提取、电源和信号集成分析、电源和信号电迁移分析、热量和热导压力分析。

高级 IC 封装的完整性与可靠性

ANSYS RedHawk Capabilities

Chip-Package Co-Analysis

In electronic systems targeted for mobile handsets or servers, ICs such as processors and memories execute the application and data processing functions, consuming the most power. These ICs also transfer the largest amount of data to and from their I/O circuits, and have the greatest detrimental power, thermal and EMI signatures.

The power consumed by an IC is directly related to its supply voltage. With the threshold voltage not scaling as well, the gap between the supply and threshold voltages shrinks, thereby reducing the noise margin.

As technology scales, the drive for reduced cost and power complicates the design of the power delivery network (PDN) at chip and package levels because of increased package impedance. This reduces the voltage to detrimental levels on the chip.

RedHawk-CPA enables you to seamlessly import package layout and consider the decaps and inductance for package-aware and accurate on-chip static IR drop and AC hotspot analyses.

Chip-Package Co-Analysis


Thermal-Aware EM

ESD and power/ground and signal EM are the two most pressing reliability problems at the sub-16nm level. The accuracy and coverage of EM and ESD analyses are extremely important. As currents in wires increase, operating voltages decrease and EM limits shrink. With FinFETs, self-heating adds to the thermal issue. With applications such as automotive, it is critical to understand, analyze and optimize every IC design for proper thermal behavior.

RedHawk provides full support for thermal-aware power/ground and signal line EM verification, accurately analyzing EM violations while minimizing false positives, even for the advanced FinFET-based designs. When used in conjunction with ANSYS PathFinder, RedHawk can perform SoC-level ESD integrity analysis, providing connectivity and interconnect failure checks for all current flow pathways (wires and vias) from an ESD event (HBM, CDM). RedHawk is foundry-certified for power EM, signal EM and SoC ESD sign-off.

Thermal-Aware EM


Capacity and Performance

Today’s system on chips (SoCs) have greater integration of content and use advanced process technologies. As a consequence, the number of design parameters that have to be considered are growing rapidly. This creates a performance bottleneck for analysis runs that take days at best and, in the worst case, do not run at all.

RedHawk offers you the capacity and performance to simulate designs over 1 billion instances using advanced Distributed Machine Processing (DMP) techniques. DMP maintains sign-off accuracy that can be obtained only through flat simulation.

DMP also takes advantage of the increasing processing power and memory capacity available in a private machine cluster to simulate the entire chip’s RLC network matrices, along with fully distributed and cross-coupled package models. By performing full-chip flat analysis, RedHawk maintains sign-off accuracy for dynamic voltage drop, EM and ESD.

Capacity and Performance


Silicon-Validated Sign-off Accuracy

At the chip-level, the use of the latest process technology is typically driven by the need for one or more of the following: faster performance, greater bandwidth, higher performance-to-power ratio and reduced die size. The newer the process technology, the higher the opportunity for failure, and the greater the cost of design mistakes. This is why sign-off certification is important.

TSMC and ANSYS engineers worked very closely together since 2006 on every process technology to ensure that all new rules, parameters and requirements for the process were considered by ANSYS solutions, and that the results correlated to their reference results from test silicon.

ANSYS solutions are certified for the advanced 7nm process. Key capabilities within ANSYS that enabled the certification include support for coloring, accurate modeling of multi-bit multi-height (MBMH) cells, modeling of special via structures, and associated complex electromigration (EM) rules. This level of certification criteria helps to ensure first pass silicon success.

Silicon-Validated Sign-Off Accuracy


Power Noise Impact on Timing

Dynamic voltage drop in a design has the potential to impact clock jitter, critical paths and timing. In today’s designs with multiple clock and power domains, it is important to evaluate clock tree performance, and identify and analyze jitter, signal crosstalk and timing problems prior to sign-off.

RedHawk’s fast full-chip-level timing-impact analysis helps you evaluate clock tree performance. In addition, it enables you to identify parts of the circuit that could be affected by jitter, signal crosstalk and timing problems. RedHawk’s SPICE-accurate sign-off simulation helps you to identify and take steps to eliminate issues on clock trees, affected critical paths and circuit timing.

Power Noise Impact on Timing


Integrity and Reliability of Advanced IC Packaging

An ongoing strategy for engineers designing integrated circuits (ICs), including system on chips (SoC), is to use integration and miniaturization to increase performance and bandwidth while reducing power and footprint.

For any package technology, integrity, reliability and cost are three major vectors that need to be optimized. The integrity vector spans power and signal noise. Reliability deals with thermal, electromigration (EM), electrostatic discharge (ESD), electromagnetic interference (EMI) and thermal-induced structural stress issues. Cost factors into almost all applications, especially for consumer products and Internet of Things (IoT) devices. Optimizing and ensuring the integrity and reliability of a chip (at a die-level) in the context of its respective package, board and system is very complex, and it only increases when multiple dies are involved.

ANSYS solutions enable you to make sure your advanced 2.5-D or 3-D-IC package designs meet the integrity and reliability requirements at the chip, package and system levels.

Integrity and Reliability of Advanced IC Packaging