Fonctionnalités d’ANSYS Icepak

Flux de conception multiphysique complet

La plateforme ANSYS Electronics Desktop permet aux ingénieurs de relier dynamiquement Icepak avec HFSS, Q3D Extractor et Maxwell afin d’obtenir des solutions électrothermiques. Un simple clic de souris suffit pour cartographier les pertes de puissance depuis les outils EM jusqu’à votre conception avant de réaliser des simulations thermiques. Vous pouvez également associer des simulations de l’intégrité énergétique dans SIwave aux simulations thermiques d’Icepak.

Pertes électromagnétiques avec couplage thermique pour l'évaluation de la performance d’antenne dépendante de la température (Icepak & HFSS)
Assurer la stabilité thermique d’une infrastructure 5G compatible avec antenne, de radars automobiles, d’appareils IoT et d’appareils électroniques mobiles est crucial afin de produire le comportement attendu. Les activités consommatrices d’énergie, telles que les appels vidéo, les jeux en kigne ou des conditions environnementales variables entraînent des variations de température considérables des appareils. Si la batterie d'un téléphone devient trop chaude, elle peut se décharger voir même causer des problèmes de sécurité. En outre, des températures élevées peuvent affecter d'autres composants électroniques au sein d’un téléphone et affecter les performances de l’antenne RF. Une panne de connectivité d'un téléphone avec les opérateurs mobiles, le Bluetooth ou le Wi-Fi peut être imputée à des problèmes thermiques. Vous pouvez prévoir ces problèmes avant de construire le matériel en simulant votre conception à l’aide des outils ANSYS. Par exemple, des ingénieurs en électricité peuvent lier dynamiquement ANSYS HFSS et ANSYS Icepak dans Electronics Desktop afin de simuler la température de l'antenne. En fonction des solutions de couplage thermique et électromagnétique, ils peuvent modifier la conception de l'antenne et prévoir l'efficacité de l'antenne, ainsi que les performances EM et thermiques globales du produit. Ces simulations EM et thermiques permettent d’améliorer les communications sans fil, de renforcer la couverture du signal et de maintenir la connectivité pour les systèmes compatibles avec les antennes.

Couplage électrothermique au niveau carte (Icepak et SIwave)
Même une élévation marginale de la température peut affecter les performances et la fiabilité des composants électroniques, conduisant à des problèmes à l’échelle du système. Les simulations de l'intégrité énergétique au niveau de la carte dans SIwave peuvent être combinées avec les simulations thermiques d'Icepak afin d’obtenir une vue complète des performances électrothermiques d'un PCB. SIwave et Icepak échangent automatiquement les données de puissance et de température en courant continu pour calculer les pertes par effet Joule dans les PCB et boîtiers pour obtenir un champ de températures hautement précis et les distributions de perte résistive. Ces solutions électrothermiques à courant continu vous permettent de contrôler la chaleur produite par vos conceptions et de prévoir la performance thermique, ainsi que les températures de fonctionnement sûres des puces, des boîtiers et des cartes.

Flux de conception multiphysique complet
Flux de conception multiphysique complet

Bibliothèques exhaustives pour la physique thermique

La bibliothèque d'Icepak contient une collection exhaustive de matériaux utiles pouvant être attribués aux surfaces, solides et fluides. Icepak offre une solution multiphysique, axée CAO, électrothermique, rationalisée, en important des concepts & ECAD de type MCAD. Les fonctions automatisées de nettoyage et de réparation de géométrie CAO, avec de nombreuses options de modification, facilitent la configuration et l’analyse de simulation. Le concepteur peut accéder à une importante bibliothèque commerciale avec un nombre considérable de ventilateurs 3-D Icepak et des puits de chaleur, afin de résoudre les défauts thermiques typiques.

Fonctionnalités Icepak : Bibliothèques Icepak

Maillage avec barre de défilement pratique

ANSYS Icepak automatise la génération de maillage tout en vous permettant de personnaliser les paramètres de maillage, afin d’affiner le maillage et d’optimiser le rapport entre coût du calcul et précision de la solution. Les paramètres du maillage de la barre coulissante permettent de rendre le maillage fin pour les objets où les gradients de température et de vitesse sont élevés et plus grossiers lorsque les gradients sont petits. Ces fonctionnalités simplifient la création d’un maillage adapté aux analyses thermiques. De plus, les « Zones de maillage » arbitraires permettent aux utilisateurs de combiner ECAD et MCAD, fournissant des solutions thermiques pour une conception complète du produit.

Maillage flexible, automatique et adapté au corps

Optimisation dans Icepak

Icepack fournit une conception paramétrique native « Et si » et des analyses de plans d’expérience (Design of Experiment, DoE) sur la géométrie, les matériaux et les pertes de puissance, via ANSYS Optimetrics. Vous pouvez, par exemple calculer facilement l’impact électrothermique lorsque vous effectuez des variations via la taille de foret, les tailles de joints et/ou les courants d‘entrée pour un PCB. L’impact du courant de Foucault des transformateurs et des bobines est facilement repéré pour l’analyse électrothermique Maxwell-to-Icepak, garantissant une précision maximale dans une interface utilisateur graphique, très simple à utiliser et intuitive.

Capacité : Optimisation dans Icepak

Visualisation

Le logiciel ANSYS Icepak contient une suite complète d'outils de post-traitement qualitatif et quantitatif pour générer des graphiques, des animations et des rapports utiles qui peuvent transmettre immédiatement les résultats de la simulation aux collègues et aux clients. La visualisation des vecteurs de vitesse, des contours de température, des traces de particules fluides, des affichages iso-surface, des plans de coupe et des scénarios x–y des données est disponible pour interpréter les résultats d'une simulation du refroidissement des appareils électroniques. Les rapports personnalisés, y compris les images, peuvent être automatiquement créés pour distribuer les données, identifier les tendances dans la simulation et établir des rapports sur les points d'exploitation du ventilateur et de la soufflante. ANSYS Icepak inclut ANSYS CFD-Post pour le post-traitement et des outils d'animation.

Interface simple et intuitive
L’interface en ruban offre une expérience riche et conviviale. ANSYS Icepak dans Electronics Desktop prend en charge les scripts Iron Python avec enregistrement et lecture automatiques. Il propose des fonctionnalités de script Java, VB et Iron Python. Les fonctions de script et de journalisation d'Icepak sont très utiles pour automatiser des tâches longues et banales pour l'analyse et la conception quotidiennes.

Visualisation

Importation ECAD-MCAD

Pour accélérer le développement de modèle, ANSYS Icepak importe à la fois les données CAD électriques (ECAD) et CAD mécaniques (MCAD) à partir de plusieurs sources. Icepak prend directement en charge les fichiers qui ont été créés à l'aide du logiciel EDA, tels que Altium Designer, Cadence®, Zuken®, Sigrity®, Synopsys® , ODB++, IPC2581 et Mentor Graphics®. ANSYS Icepak prend directement en charge l'importation des données CAD mécaniques à partir des formats de fichiers neutres, notamment les fichiers STEP et IGES. ANSYS SpaceClaim permet à Icepak d'importer la géométrie de tous les principaux packages de CAO mécanique par le biais des interfaces de géométrie d'ANSYS Workbench. La géométrie importée de ECAD et MCAD peut être combinée en des objets intelligents pour créer efficacement les modèles des ensembles électroniques.

Importation ECAD-MCAD

ANSYS Icepak Capabilities

Comprehensive Multiphysics Design Flow

ANSYS Electronics Desktop Platform lets engineers dynamically link Icepak with HFSS, Q3D Extractor and Maxwell to obtain electrothermal solutions. It’s as easy as a simple mouse click to map power losses from the EM tools to your design before executing thermal simulations. You can also tie in power integrity simulations in SIwave with Icepak thermal simulations.

Electromagnetic Losses with Thermal Coupling For Temperature-Dependent Antenna Performance Assessment (Icepak & HFSS)
Ensuring the thermal stability of antenna-enabled 5G infrastructure, automotive radar, IoT devices and mobile electronic devices is critical in producing expected behavior. Power hungry activity such as video calls, online-based games or varying environmental conditions causes significant swings in device temperatures. If a phone’s battery becomes too hot, it can lose charge or even create safety issues. Also, high temperatures can affect other electronic components within a phone and impact RF antenna performance. Breakdown of a phone’s connectivity with mobile carriers, Bluetooth or Wi-Fi is traceable to thermal problems. You can predict these issues before you build the hardware by simulating your design using ANSYS tools. For example, electrical engineers can dynamically link ANSYS HFSS and ANSYS Icepak in the Electronics Desktop to simulate the temperature of the antenna. Based on the electromagnetic and thermal coupling solutions, they can modify antenna design and predict antenna efficiency and the overall thermal and EM performance of the product. These EM and thermal simulations help to improve wireless communications, boost signal coverage and maintain connectivity for antenna-enabled systems.

Board-Level Electrothermal Coupling (Icepak and SIwave)
Even a marginal rise in temperature can affect the performance and reliability of electronic components, leading to system-wide problems. Board-level power integrity simulations within SIwave can be combined with Icepak thermal simulations to get a complete picture of a PCB’s electrothermal performance. SIwave and Icepak automatically exchange DC power and temperature data to calculate Joule heating losses within PCBs and packages to obtain highly accurate temperature field and resistive loss distributions. These DC electrothermal solutions let you manage the heat produced by your designs and predict thermal performance and safe operating temperatures of chips, packages and boards.

Comprehensive Multiphysics Design Flow
Comprehensive Multiphysics Design Flow

Extensive Libraries for Thermal Physics

Icepak’s library contains an extensive collection of a wide range of useful materials that can be assigned to surfaces, solids and fluids. Icepak offers a streamlined electrothermal CAD-centric multiphysics solution by importing native MCAD & ECAD designs. Automated CAD geometry cleanup and healing functions, along with many editing options, facilitate easy simulation setup and analysis. A vast commercial library with a considerable number of Icepak 3-D fans and heat sinks is at the designer’s fingertips to solve typical thermal problems.

Icepak Capabilities: Icepak Libraries

Convenient Slider Bar Meshing

ANSYS Icepak automates mesh generation while enabling you to customize the meshing parameters to refine the mesh and optimize trade-offs between computational cost and solution accuracy. Slider bar mesh settings let you make the mesh fine for objects where the temperature and velocity gradients are high and coarser where the gradients are small. These features make it easy to create a suitable mesh for performing thermal analyses. Additionally, arbitrary “Mesh Regions” let users assemble ECAD and MCAD that provide thermal solutions for complete product design.

Flexible, Automatic and Body-fitted Meshing

Optimization in Icepak

Icepak provides native parametric “what if” and Design of Experiment (DoE) analyses on geometry, materials and power losses using ANSYS Optimetrics. For instance, you can easily calculate the electrothermal impact when you vary via drill size, pad sizes and/or input currents for a PCB via. The eddy current impact of transformers and coils are easily accounted for in the Maxwell-to-Icepak electrothermal analysis, ensuring the highest accuracy within a very easy-to-use and intuitive graphical user interface.

Capability: Optimization in Icepak

Visualization

ANSYS Icepak software contains a full suite of qualitative and quantitative post-processing tools to generate meaningful graphics, animations and reports that can readily convey simulation results to colleagues and customers. Visualization of velocity vectors, temperature contours, fluid particle traces, iso-surface displays, cut planes and x–y plots of results data are all available for interpreting the results of an electronics cooling simulation. Customized reports, including images, can be automatically created for distributing results data, identifying trends in the simulation and reporting fan and blower operating points. ANSYS Icepak includes ANSYS CFD-Post for advanced post-processing and animation tools.

Simple and Intuitive Interface
Icepak’s ribbon-based interface delivers a rich and user-friendly experience. ANSYS Icepak within the Electronics Desktop supports Iron Python scripting with automated recording and playback. It offers native Java, VB and Iron Python scripting capabilities. Scripting and journaling capabilities in Icepak are very useful in automating lengthy and mundane tasks for everyday analysis and design.

Visualization

ECAD-MCAD Import

To accelerate model development, ANSYS Icepak imports both electrical CAD (ECAD) and mechanical CAD (MCAD) data from a variety of sources. Icepak directly supports files that were created using EDA software such as Altium Designer, Cadence®, Zuken®, Sigrity®, Synopsys® , ODB++, IPC2581 and Mentor Graphics®. ANSYS Icepak directly supports the import of mechanical CAD data from neutral file formats including STEP and IGES files. ANSYS SpaceClaim enables Icepak to import geometry from all major mechanical CAD packages through the ANSYS Workbench geometry interfaces. Geometry imported from ECAD and MCAD can be combined into smart objects to efficiently create models of electronic assemblies.

ECAD-MCAD Import

Multidomain System Modeling

Simplorer is a powerful platform for modeling, simulating and analyzing system-level digital prototypes integrated with ANSYS Maxwell, ANSYS HFSS, ANSYS SIwave, and ANSYS Q3D Extractor. Simplorer enables you to verify and optimize the performance of your software-controlled, multidomain systems. With flexible modeling capabilities and tight integration with ANSYS 3D physics simulation, Simplorer provides broad support for assembling and simulating system-level physical models to help you connect conceptual design, detailed analysis and system verification. Simplorer is ideal for electrified system design, power generation, conversion, storage and distribution applications, EMI/EMC studies and general multidomain system optimization and verification.

Multi Domain System

Features:

  • Circuit simulation
  • Block diagram simulation
  • State machine simulation
  • VHDL-AMS simulation
  • Integrated graphical modeling environment
  • Power electronic device and module characterization
  • Co-simulation with MathWorks Simulink

Model libraries:

  • Analog and power electronics components
  • Control blocks and sensors
  • Mechanical components
  • Hydraulic components
  • Digital and logic blocks

Application-specific libraries:

  • Aerospace electrical networks
  • Electric vehicles
  • Power systems
  • Characterized manufacturers components
  • Reduced Order Modeling