BGImage
BGImage

Analyzing Quadcopter Drone Propeller Noise Using Ansys CFD

Quadcopter drones are being used for a wide range of applications today, including cargo transport, surveillance and personal recreation. As these drones become more ubiquitous, the noise produced by their propeller-based propulsion systems will become a major concern, especially in populated urban and suburban environments.

28 October 2020

11 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 8:30 PM IST

Venue:
Online

Share:

I want to receive updates and other offers from Ansys and its partners. I can unsubscribe at any time.   ANSYS Privacy Notice
I want to receive updates and other offers from Ansys and its partners. I can unsubscribe at any time.  ANSYS Privacy Notice

This webinar will discuss the use of Ansys Fluent to simulate the noise produced by a generic four-bladed quadcopter drone. The methodology is based on the use of unsteady, scale-resolving turbulence modeling, along with the Ffowcs Williams-Hawkings (FW-H) acoustic analogy to compute sound pressure levels at selected locations below the drone. Acoustic FFT results from the CFD simulation will be presented, showing how the acoustic tones and broadband noise change with position relative to the vehicle.

In addition, sound analysis tools from Ansys VRXPERIENCE SOUND will be applied to the acoustic results to help assess psychoacoustic parameters associated with the perceived sounds and to demonstrate the generation of audio files, which allow you to listen to the simulated noise.

Start a conversation with Ansys

Contact Us