Skip to Main Content

Automate PCB Thermal Simulation Workflow with Ansys Icepak and PyAEDT

Customer Spotlight Webinar with Webasto

We'll present a comprehensive workflow for thermal simulation of PCBs. And show how this solution can be automated using Python to speed up overall simulation time and considerably decrease labor costs.

Time:
September 21, 2022
 9 AM EDT / 2 PM BST / 6:30 PM IST / 3:00 PM CET 

Sign Up


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

About this Webinar

A thermal simulation process for printed circuit boards (PCBs) consists of many individual steps before the PCB model is ready for simulation. It requires importing PCB and Components via ODB++ and IDF, assigning materials and thermal blocks to dozens of components, and setting boundary conditions and proper mesh operations, to name a few.

To enhance simulation accuracy, it is often also necessary to consider joule heating of the planes and traces, which requires an additional dc simulation using SIWave. All these steps are usually done manually by the simulation engineer, and this can be exhausting and time-consuming depending on PCB size and component count. 

This webinar will present a comprehensive workflow for thermal simulation of PCBs. We will show that this solution can be automated using Python to speed up overall simulation time and considerably decrease labor costs.

The workflow is implemented using Ansys SIWave, Ansys Icepak, and PyAEDT.

What you will learn

  • Learn the steps necessary to set up a thermal simulation of a printed circuit board
  • Use PyAEDT to speed up and automate time-consuming and repetitive manual steps in model creation
  • Validate and verify thermal behavior of PCBs using simulation

Who Should Attend

Simulation, Thermal and Validation Engineers, Hardware Developers

Speakers

Michael Schreittmiller, Modules Expert HW, Webasto Roof & Components SE